

Save the Date: 82nd Annual Meeting and Board Election

Tuesday, March 28, 2017
6:00 p.m.
Fort Worth Botanic Garden
Dorothea Leonhardt Lecture Hall
3220 Botanic Garden Blvd.
Fort Worth, TX 76107

The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Chairman of the Board of Directors, has nominated one member for each board position to be filled. The three nominees are Ben Davis, Johnny Largent, and Nikita Russell. A brief statement of qualifications and biographical data for each of the nominees is included with this notice.

Further nominations may be made by official petition signed by 500 eligible members. Official petitions may be obtained by contacting the Secretary of the Board of Directors, Dr. Joe Bean, at EECU, 1617 W. 7th St., Fort Worth, Texas 76102, and must include each signer's name, address and telephone number. Members must be at least 21 years of age and have never been convicted of a criminal offense involving dishonesty or breach of trust to be eligible for election. They must also be a member in good standing with the credit union. Official petitions must be accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee that he or she is agreeable to the nomination and will accept office if elected. Petitions should also include a brief statement of qualifications and biographical data.

Official petitions must be filed with the Secretary of the Board of Directors, Dr. Joe Bean, at EECU, 1617 W. 7th St., Fort Worth, Texas 76102, no later than Wednesday, February 22, 2017, which is the closing date for receiving nominations by petition. If no official petitions are filed by Wednesday, February 22, 2017, there will be no election by ballot and no nominations from the floor. When only one member is nominated for each position to be filled, each nominee shall be deemed elected by general consent or acclamation. If there is more than one nominee for any position, the election shall be by ballot at the Annual Meeting.

2017 EECU Board of Directors Nominees



Ben Davis has been a member of EECU since 1976, and has served on the Board of Directors since 1981. Mr. Davis retired after 45 years as a teacher, coach, and principal. His first position was at Eastern Hills High School, followed by a coaching position at the University of Tulsa. He was coach/athletic director at Brewer High School for 24 years and retired as principal of Godley High School. He has been named White Settlement Citizen of the Year, Brewer High School Teacher of the Year, and Tarrant County Coach of the Year. His many other recognitions include Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Service Awards, Texas High School Coaches' Association's award for Outstanding Achievement in the Coaching Profession, Community Commitment Award and numerous annual recognitions as District Coach of the Year. He holds a Certificate of Merit Award from the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and is also a member of the University of Tulsa Football Hall of Fame. Mr. Davis is a volunteer with H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Excel) Farm, Inc., a program devoted to making a difference in the lives of at-risk children in the Fort Worth area. He is an active member of the McKinney Bible Church and can often be found volunteering in their Children's Nursery.



Johnny Largent has been a member of EECU since 1974, and has served on the Board of Directors since 1978. Mr. Largent is currently Chairman of the Board Member Selection, Business Continuity Disaster Recovery, and Credit committees and is Vice Chair of the CUSO Board of Managers. He also serves on the Compensation and Facilities committees. The retired Eastern Hills High School Principal was with Fort Worth ISD for 36 years as a teacher, counselor, Vice Principal, and Principal. Other schools he served include Morningside Junior High, Rosemont Junior High, Daggett Middle School, Meadowbrook Middle School, J.P. Elder Middle School, and North Side High School. Mr. Largent has been a member of the East Side Rotary Club and is an active member of Southcliff Baptist Church. His volunteer activities include Habitat for Humanity, Meals on Wheels and various other ministries through his church.



Nikita Russell has been a member of EECU since 1998 and has served on the Board of Directors since 2013. Mrs. Russell currently serves on the Audit, Board Education and Training, Member Relations, and Scholarship Committees. She has worked in Everman ISD for nine years and in education for 17 years. She is currently the Director of Federal and State Programs for Everman ISD and previously served as principal and vice-principal at Bishop Elementary in the same school district. Other educational experience includes teaching positions with the Mansfield ISD and Dallas ISD. Mrs. Russell graduated from the University of North Texas in 1996 with a Bachelors of Business Administration. In 2002, she earned her Masters of Education Administration degree from Dallas Baptist University. She is currently pursuing her doctoral degree at Tarleton State University. Mrs. Russell and her husband, Rod, have two daughters and enjoy traveling and reading. Rod and Nikita both enjoy supporting their daughters in dance and sports.